The Technische Informationsbibliothek – German National Library of Science and Technology (TIB) became an independent public-law foundation of the Federal State of Lower Saxony in January 2016. Its bears the additional designations “Leibniz Information Centre for Science and Technology” and “University Library”. TIB is the German national library for all areas of engineering, as well as architecture, chemistry, information technology, mathematics and physics; it is also the University Library for Leibniz Universität Hannover.

Foundation Act

The Establishment Act contains the essential foundations for the establishment of the TIB Foundation and its duties

TIB Foundation Statutes

Particulars about the internal organisation of the Foundation – including TIB committees and their tasks – are set out in the TIB Foundation Statutesfileadmin/Daten/dokumente/die-tib/tib-satzung_2017.pdf (PDF).

TIB Foundation Council

The Foundation Council decides on matters of fundamental importance, in particular on the adoption and amendment of the Foundation’s Statutes and Regulations, on research and science policy issues, and on financial issues with significant repercussions. It also oversees the Director’s activities. The Foundation Council consists of 13 members; seven of these members are eligible to vote and six members have an advisory role.

As of: January 2020

Members eligible to vote:

  • Dr. Diana Reers (Chair)
    Lower Saxony Ministry of Science and Culture
  • Prof. Dr. Monika Jungbauer-Gans
    Scientific Director DZHW (German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies)
  • Dr. Hans-Josef Linkens
    Federal Ministry of Education and Research
  • Dr. Dieter Messnarz
    Volkswagen AG
  • Prof. Dr. Jörg Overmann
    Managing Director Leibniz Institute DSMZ-German Collection of Microorganisms and Cell Cultures
  • Prof. Dr. Christa Womser-Hacker
    University of Hildesheim Foundation
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Wriggers

    Vice President for Research Leibniz Universität Hannover

Advisory members:

  • Prof. Dr. Sören Auer
    Director of TIB
  • Hans-Jürgen Berger
    Lower Saxony Ministry of Finance
  • Andrea Budlofsky
    Lower Saxony Ministry of Science and Culture
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfram Koch
    Chair of TIB Scientific Advisory Council
  • Volker Lange
    TIB Staff Council representative
  • Michaela Ohlhoff
    Equal Opportunities Officer

TIB Scientific Advisory Council

The Foundation Council has established a Scientific Advisory Council for the purpose of advising the Foundation Council and the Director on programmatic issues.

As of: July 2020

  • Prof. Christine Gläser (Chair)
    Hamburg University of Applied Sciences, Faculty of Design, Media and Information, Department of Information
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Bartelmann
    Heidelberg University, Center for Astronomy, Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics
  • Dr. Michaela Bilic-Merdes
    Administrative Officer Scientific Library Services and Information Systems, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German Research Foundation – DFG
  • Dr. Achim Bonte
    Director General Saxon State and University Library Dresden (SLUB)
  • Dr. Guido F. Herrmann
    Vice President John Wiley & Sons GmbH
  • Dr. Alice Keller
    Director University Library Basel, Switzerland<
  • Dr. Michael Lautenschlager
    Head of Data Management department World Data Center for Climate (WDCC), Deutsches Klimarechenzentrum GmbH (DKRZ
  • Prof. Dr. Bernhard Neumair
    Executive Director Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
  • Dr. Bernhard Nunner
    German Physical Society (DPG)
  • Frank Scholze
    Director General of the German National Library
  • Richa Sharma
    Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Information Technology FIT, St. Augustin
  • Rigo Wenning
    World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and Law firm Frösner/Stadler
  • Prof. Dr. Sonja Zillner
    Siemens AG, Corporate Technology

TIB Users’ Council

The Users’ Council, comprising members of Leibniz Universität Hannover, advises the Foundation’s bodies in all matters concerning the provision of literature and information for Leibniz Universität Hannover. In particular, it makes recommendations on the distribution of the literature budget to acquisition quotas in the individual subjects and on the library’s opening hours.

As of: November 2019

  • Dr. Nadja Bieletzki
    Faculty of Humanities, Humanities and Social Sciences
    (Deputy: Professor Dr. Alexander Kosenina, Faculty of Humanities, Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Laura Isabel Schoger, M. A.
    Faculty of Humanities, Humanities and Social Sciences
    (Deputy: Robin Kühne, Faculty of Humanities, Humanities and Social Sciences)
  • Prof. Prof. h.c. Dr.-Ing. Birgit Glasmacher
    Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, Engineering
    (Deputy: Dr. Maurice Chandoo, Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Engineering)
  • Liv-Marie Holdt
    Faculty of Civil Engineering and Geodetic Science, Engineering
    (Deputy: Dr.-Ing. Anja Eckert, Faculty of Architecture and Landscape Sciences, Engineering)
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Heimhofer
    Faculty of Natural Sciences, Natural Sciences
    (Deputy: Professor Dr. Franz Renz, Faculty of Natural Sciences, Natural Sciences)
  • Dr. Lutz Habermann
    Faculty of Mathematics and Physics
    (Deputy: Henry Wegener, QUEST-Leibniz Research School, Natural Sciences)
  • Prof. Dr. iur. Stephan Meder
    Faculty of Law, Civil Law and History of Law
    (Deputy: Christian Denz, Faculty of Law, Student Representative of the Faculty of Law)
  • Dr. Ute Lohse
    Faculty of Economics and Management, Law, Economics and Management
    (Deputy: Annemarie Will, Faculty of Economics and Management, Law, Economics and Management)

Member of the Leibniz Association

TIB is the world’s largest specialised library in its subject areas. As a member of the Leibniz Association, TIB is connected to 93 other independent research institutions, ranging from the natural sciences, engineering and environmental sciences, to economics, spatial and social sciences, to the humanities. TIB maintains scientific infrastructures, offers research-based services and defines core areas in the transfer of knowledge to research, business and political communities as well as to the general public. Due to its importance for the country as a whole, TIB is funded jointly by the German federation and the federal states.

TIB is a member of Section D “Mathematics, Natural Sciences and Engineering”.